JOY


There don’t seem to be enough articles or books written about Joy.
JOY JOY JOY, HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY, JOY JOY JOY.
JOYFULNESS, JOYFULNESS, HAPPINESS, HAPPINESS, JOYFULNESS
DELIGHT BLISS RAPTURE EXCITEMENT PLEASURE ELATION

It is the basic emotion which embodies and surrounds celebration. We express extremes of Joy whenever we win a lottery, or get a new job, or find out that our partner is pregnant, or that the offer on the house we wanted to buy was accepted, or when our favourite sports team wins the playoffs and the trophy.

Let’s not forget the time when we gather with family to commemorate a special event like a religious holiday or birthday or anniversary.
Joy always seems to be accompanied by eating, by the presence of cake and flowers, balloons and banners, chocolates and wine, and plenty of laughter.

Joy is always equated with Laughter. LOTS AND LOTS OF LAUGHTER.
HA HA HA HA; HA HA HA HA HA HA; HA HA HA HA
Very little is ever spoken about ‘quiet joy’, it seems like an oxymoron to put ‘quiet’ and ‘joy’ in the same phrase. How do monks celebrate joyfulness? Do they have an inner chuckle in silence?

The mind immediately wants to go to the extreme ends of the emotional spectrum which usually leads us to think about ‘sadness’ right after having had a joyful moment.
But let’s not go there. This article is about Joy. No sadness allowed here.
Isn’t it amazing how the mind always wants to analyze reality dualistically in extremes: cold/hot, wet/dry, in/out, up/down, black/white, happy/sad.

The mind likes to dissect and categorize. That’s what it’s wired to do.
Unlike the mind the heart loves to feel. It doesn’t get bogged down in thoughts and analysis. Its attention is too intensely geared towards feeling and entertaining emotions: Love/joy, happiness/ ecstasy, sadness/despair.

So how do we go from being controlled by our minds to being controlled by our hearts?
How do we make the transition from mindfulness to heart-fullness?

Not that being mindful is bad or good? Better or worse than being heart-full.

They both have their place in our lives in different contexts and situations.
Sometimes we need to have our minds in charge when we have to construct an argument as to why we can’t do what our boss wants us to do.
And then again sometimes we’re grateful that we are heart- full when we remember that today is our wife’s birthday and that we’d better remember to buy her a special gift which reminds her of how special she is.
Otherwise we will be reminded of how thoughtless we were if we didn’t remember.
It seems that remembering to be heart-full is also a mindful assignment and requires our computer as well as our heart.

So it seems that in many instances we need both our minds and our hearts to function properly, to remember what we need to and to connect with our heart center and our feelings about the appropriate manner of acting on our remembrances.

It seems that whenever my mind takes over, like when I’m typing this document, and I lose my sense of Joy that I had when I started thinking and feeling about the title: JOY.

So what does that say about how my mind/heart talk to each other?
Is there some way that I can stay connected to my Heart Center even when I’m required to use my ‘mind computer’ to perform a task?

If I start with a feeling like Joy and allow myself to feel it deeply then I may be able to hang on to that feeling even if I have to connect with my mind to perform a mental task, such as typing or thinking.

It’s all a matter of intent or intention. My intent is to remain joyful and happy even though my mind doesn’t know how to experience these feelings with the computer.
It’s only when I associate feelings to my thinking process that I can convince my mind that I can also be having a positive or joyful feeling at the same time as I am thinking about anything.
It is possible for me to experience bliss or ecstasy while having a conversation with someone or while performing a mind-directed activity like typing.

It’s a case of maintaining focus on my intent and on my feeling so that they don’t get submerged beneath the wave of mental activity. I have to let the wave of ‘joy’ mingle with the wave of ‘mindfulness’.
I have to immerse my Mind with ‘soulful love’ so that it remembers that ‘mind/soul’ connection always connects in an ocean of Love feeling.
In the absence of remembering this connection I can be easily swayed into having an opposite or different feeling that that with which I started: ‘LOVE/BLISS’ connection.

JOY JOY JOY, NAMASTE NAMASTE NAMASTE, BLESSINGS TO ALL

About Pranic Roger

I have been developing my healing skills since 1998 and have been on a personal purification journey and free from substance dependency since 1989 following twenty-three years of dependency to nicotine and alcohol. I operate a fee-for-service healing facility and utilize deep-tissue massage techniques and pranic healing techniques to remove blockages to healing and surrender, and expulsion of negative energy thought forms and entities from the body, chakras, and aura. My website is: http://www.healingmassage.ca. The secondary website for more information about energy work is :http://www.pranichealing.ca, and www.pranichealingmb.com That's what goes on when I'm not outside nurturing my garden which occurs from April to November.
This entry was posted in Consciousness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

